One Half from the East

by Nadia Hashimi

On Sale: 06/09/2016

Format:

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062421920
  • ISBN 10: 0062421921
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 06/09/2016
  • Pages: 288
  • List Price: 7.99 AUD
  • Age: From 8 years
  • Age: To 12 years

Biography

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. Nadia is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novel One Half from the East. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC suburbs. Visit her online at www.nadiahashimi.com.


More about the author



Other Works by Nadia Hashimi

The Sky At Our Feet

by Nadia Hashimi

A House Without Windows

by Nadia Hashimi

One Half From The East

by Nadia Hashimi

See all
X