The Sky At Our Feet

by Nadia Hashimi

On Sale: 21/05/2018

Format:

About the Book

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it's hard to feel American now when he's terrified that his mother will be discovered-and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he's overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle-even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won't be able to run forever.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062421937
  • ISBN 10: 006242193X
  • Imprint: HarperCollins - US
  • On Sale: 21/05/2018
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: 24.99 AUD
  • Age: From 8 years
  • BISAC1: Children's, Teenage & educational / General fiction (Children's - Teenage)

Biography

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. Nadia is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novel One Half from the East. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC suburbs. Visit her online at www.nadiahashimi.com.


More about the author



Other Works by Nadia Hashimi

A House Without Windows

by Nadia Hashimi

One Half From The East

by Nadia Hashimi

See all
X