Hate is Such a Strong Word... | Harper Collins Australia

Hate is Such a Strong Word...

by Sarah Ayoub

On Sale: 01/09/2013


About the Book

In the vein of DOES MY HEAD LOOK BIG IN THIS and LOOKING FOR ALIBRANDI, HATE IS SUCH A STRONG WORD is the story of a seventeen-year-old girl caught between two cultures, Lebanese and Anglo Australian. Seventeen-year-old Sophie hates Monday mornings, socks worn with sandals, and having to strategise like she's a battle sergeant every time she asks her parents if she can go out. But she especially hates being stereotyped because she's Lebanese. When New Guy, Shehadie Goldsmith, is alienated at her Lebanese school because his dad's Australian, she hates the way it makes her feel. Like she's just as prejudiced as everyone else. Like she could make a difference if she stopped pretending she's invisible. Like the attraction between them might be too strong to fight... But hate is such a strong word... Can Sophie find the strength to speak out - even if it means going against everything she's been brought up to believe? A brilliant debut novel about identity, love, culture and finding your place. Ages: 12+

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780732296841
  • ISBN 10: 0732296846
  • Imprint: HarperCollins - AU
  • On Sale: 01/09/2013
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price: 19.99 AUD
  • Age: From 12 years
  • BISAC1: Children's, Teenage & educational / General fiction (Children's - Teenage)


Sarah Ayoub is a freelance journalist based in Sydney, Australia. Her work has appeared in various print and online publications, including Marie-Claire, Madison, Cosmopolitan, House & Garden, Sunday Style, The Guardian, Cleo, Shop Til You Drop, Frankie, Yen, Girlfriend and more. She has taught Journalism at the University of Notre Dame and spoken at numerous industry events with the Emerging Writers' Festival, NSW Writers' Centre, the Walkley Foundation, Vibewire and more. She is the author of Hate Is Such a Strong Word and The Yearbook Committee and regularly runs writing workshops at Sydney high schools.  

More about the author

Other Works by Sarah Ayoub

The Yearbook Committee

by Sarah Ayoub

See all