Full Contact Sudoku: How Four Rugby Mates Realised Their Dream of Playing for Australia

by Mick Colliss

On Sale: 01/08/2009

Format:

About the Book

In the tradition of Nigel Marsh's FAT, FORTY AND FIRED and OBSERVATIONS OF A SHORT MAN, Danny Wallace's YES MAN, Tony Hawkes' ROUND IRELAND WITH A FRIDGE, and Dave Gorman GOOGLEWHACK ADVENTURE, this book celebrates the underdog, the Aussie sense of humour, and giving your dream a go, no matter the odds stacked against you. Four blokes had a dream. A dream of playing for Australia, of being a Wallaby. Mick Colliss and his mates Skiffo, Hamish and Sandy first played rugby together when they were in their twenties. two decades later, when they realise that desire is no substitute for ability, they refuse to relinquish their dream. But how to achieve it? Full Contact Sudoku is a laugh-out loud true story about never giving up, no matter the odds stacked against you. It's a mate's own adventure that takes a group of washed up sportsmen - who had never even completed a Sudoku puzzle - halfway around the world, just for the honour of wearing the green and gold. It's a journey into the high-pressure world of elite international competition. Humiliation lurks around every corner. Being able to bench press your own body weight counts for nothing. they know this is their one shot at a world title. they've picked themselves for the Australian Sudoku team and packed their bags for India. It's their only chance to represent their country with pride. they're the 10,000 to 1 outsiders. the underdogs. And they wouldn't have it any other way. Ladies and gentlemen, sharpen your pencils.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780733326448
  • ISBN 10: 0733326447
  • Imprint: ABC Books - AU
  • On Sale: 01/08/2009
  • Pages: 192
  • List Price: 27.99 AUD
  • BISAC1: Lifestyle, sport & leisure / Humour

Biography

Originally from Sydney, Mick Colliss moved to Perth in 1988 to study and play rugby at the University of Western Australia. His poetry has been recited on 2UE, 6PR, Channel 10 and Channel 7 and published in The Sydney Morning Herald, The West Australian, The Sunday Times, Rugby League Week and Rugby News. He was awarded ‘Best Sports Poem in 2002’ by SMH columnist and bestselling author Peter FitzSimons.


More about the author



X