Withering-by-Sea: A Stella Montgomery Intrigue | Harper Collins Australia

Stella Montgomery, Book #1

Withering-by-Sea: A Stella Montgomery Intrigue

by Judith Rossell

On Sale: 01/11/2014

Format:

About the Book

A Victorian fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Wildwood, Lemony Snicket and Tensy Farlow Ages: 9+ High on a cliff above the gloomy coastal town of Withering-by-Sea stands the Hotel Majestic. Inside the walls of the damp, dull hotel, eleven-year-old orphan Stella Montgomery leads a miserable life with her three dreadful Aunts. But one night, Stella sees something she shouldn't have ... Something that will set in motion an adventure more terrifying and more wonderful than she could ever have hoped for ... From hugely talented Australian writer-illustrator Judith Rossell comes a thrilling and gripping Victorian fantasy-adventure, the first in an extraordinarily exciting new series. 'Wildly imaginative, darkly funny. I was hooked from the first page.' - Jen Storer, author of tensy Farlow and the Home for Mislaid Children 'Withering-by-Sea is a delightful, thoroughly enjoyable book ... Lots of detail and a sharp ear for cockney-style dialect brings sparkling life to both the setting and characters. this is recommended for fans of Lemony Snicket, 'the Sisters Grimm' and 'Verity Sparks'.' - Australian Books+Publishing WINNER - 2015 Indie Awards, Book of the Year: Children's & YA WINNER - 2015 Australian Book Industry Awards, Book of the Year: Older Children HONOUR BOOK - 2015 Children's Book Council of Australia Awards WINNER - 2015 Davitt Awards SHORTLISTED - 2014 Aurealis Awards

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780733333002
  • ISBN 10: 0733333001
  • Imprint: ABC Books - AU
  • On Sale: 11/01/2014
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: 22.99 AUD
  • BISAC1: Children's, Teenage & educational / Fantasy & magical realism (Children's - Teenage)

Biography

Judith has been an illustrator and writer of children’s books for more than 12 years. Before that, she worked as a government scientist (not a mad scientist, a normal kind of scientist) and also for a cotton spinning company (that made threads for T-shirts and denim jeans and mops and teabag strings). She has written 11 books and illustrated more than 80. Her books have been published in the UK and the USA and have been translated into more than 10 languages. Judith lives in Melbourne with a cat the size of a Walrus.


More about the author



Other Works by Judith Rossell

You are a Star

by Judith Rossell

Wrong Way

by Judith Rossell

See all