Quantcast Books | HarperCollins Publishers Australia
Facebook Twitter Pinterest YouTube 
Books
Pinit    

Latest Books

Armageddon Armageddon Outta Here
by Derek Landy

We all know that doors are for people with no imagination so smash the glass, climb through the window and enter the awesome world of Skulduggery Pleasant with this ultimate story collection.

For the first time, every Skulduggery Pleasant short story - plus The End of the World, the World Book Day novelette - is collected into one magnificent volume. But that's not all... Written specially for this collection, there is an entirely new novella, and three brand-spanking-new stories spanning the last 150 years. And then read the exclusive chapter from the final book ... more


City The City
by Dean Koontz

This is the story of a boy and a city. Jonah Kirk's childhood has been punctuated by extraordinary moments - like the time a generous stranger helped him realize his dream of learning the piano. Nothing is more important to him than his family and friends, and the electrifying power of music.

But now Jonah has a terrifying secret. And it sets him on a collision course with a group of dangerous people who will change his life forever. For one bright morning, a single earth-shattering event will show Jonah that in his city, good is entwined with malice, and sometimes the dark side of humanity triumphs. But it will also teach him that courage and honour are found in the most unexpected places, and the way forward lies buried deep inside the heart. If he can just survive to find it ... more


Four Four: A Divergent Collection
by Veronica Roth

Readers first encountered Tobias Eaton as "Four" in Divergent and now they will find more of this charismatic character's backstory told from his own perspective in Four: A Divergent Collection. When read together, these long narrative pieces illuminate the defining moments in Tobias Eaton's life. The first three pieces in this volume follow Tobias's transfer from Abnegation to Dauntless, his Dauntless initiation, and the first clues that a foul plan is brewing in the leadership of two factions.

The fourth story, "The Traitor," runs parallel with the events of Divergent, giving readers a glimpse into the decisions of loyalty - and love - that Tobias makes in the weeks after he meets Tris Prior. Exclusive scenes included! ... more


Stop the Presses Stop the Presses
by Ben Hills

How has the Fairfax empire arrived at its current shabby, sorry state - and what does its demise mean for the future of independent journalism? A decade ago Fairfax Media was one of the most powerful institutions in the country; staffed by gun reporters, funded by its 'rivers of gold', offering up high quality, fearless journalism. Since then, it has become a car wreck in slow motion. But how did it come to this?

In his dramatic, no-holds barred book, Ben Hills exposes the characters who took Fairfax to the brink of destruction - the dynastic princes, the acolytes, the self-interested, the would be owners waiting in the wings. He tells the sometimes poignant, sometimes hilarious tales of what unfolded behind boardroom doors and at team bonding retreats. And he asks if the trail of greed and incompetence could have been avoided ... more


Drover Drover
by Bruce Simpson

Photographer Darren Clark has captured the spirit of Bruce Simpson's outback in glorious colour, revisiting and celebrating the historic properties, landscapes, droving routes, towns and people of today's outback.

Based on Where the Outback Drovers Ride, the much-loved memoir of bushman and drover Bruce Simpson, Drover celebrates a way of life that has all but vanished - and records how it's changed with time. From saddling up at dawn, through long days of heat, dust and sheer hard graft working cattle, to evenings spent joking around the campfire, photographer Darren Clark was there to record contemporary outback life ... more

Lethal Sky Lethal Sky
by Greg Barron

Action, explosions, adventure, terrorist plots and conspiracies combine for a compelling novel in the vein of Clancy, MacLean and Ludlum. A light aircraft flies over Sydney Harbour carrying the spores of a deadly microbe, enough to kill the people below and render the city uninhabitable for decades.

Intelligence agent Marika Hartmann races to the scene aboard a Taipan helicopter packed with Australian commandos, unable to shoot the plane down for fear of releasing the lethal cargo. In Western Europe and America millions of ordinary people start their day, unaware that the same biological agent, threatens their skies - but time is against them all. Action and adventure, plots and conspiracies all combine for a breakneck thriller that feels terrifyingly real ... more


Born Born Into the Children of God
by Natacha Tormey

Born into the infamous Children of God sect Natacha thought she had a special destiny. But she was soon torn away from their parents.

Natacha and her 12 siblings were beaten on a daily basis and forced to sing and dance for entertainment in prisons. Natacha never expected to live to adulthood. At 18 Natacha escaped, but quickly found herself hurtling through a world she had no understanding of.

Natacha is one of the lucky ones; not all of her family survived the battle to shed the shame and pain of their past. Shocking, moving, but ultimately inspiring, this is Natacha’s full story; it is both a personal tale of trauma and recovery, and an exposé of the secret world of abuse hidden behind commune walls ... more



Juliet I Am Juliet
by Jackie French

This is the well-known story of Juliet Capulet and her love for Romeo. It also the story about the increasing helplessness Juliet feels as she realises that unlike young men her age, her life will effectively be determined and controlled by others.

I am Juliet closely follows the well-known and loved plot of the play, but we also see the point of view of Rob, the thirteen-year-old boy who is the first to play the role of Juliet on the Elizabethan stage. Like many young people today, he too is overwhelmed by 'all those words' that Shakespeare wrote. But Rob realises that the story of love and tragedy is a somewhat simple one and the words are there for their extraordinary beauty and meaning. He will be Juliet and let the power of the words sing - as they still do today ... more


Luigis Freedom Ride> Luigi's Freedom Ride
by Alan Murray

A wholly charming, sweetly funny story of one young good-hearted Italian man. It's about life, bicycles, the joy of the journey and the simple beauty of a life well-lived. It is the small lives, tucked away, that reveal humanity in all its bigness.

Luigi is a young Italian boy growing up in Tuscany in the 1920s, dreaming of cowboys and adventure, when a young Englishman, passing through on his way to Rome, gives him his first bicycle, thus sparking a lifelong passion. When World War II begins, Luigi enlists with the Bersaglieri, the Italian Army Cycling Corps (naturally), before unexpectedly finding himself fighting alongside the Partisans. Despite encountering great sorrow and tragedy, Luigi's zest for life remains undiminished, and his next adventure sees him cycling through the Holy Land, Turkey and Sri Lanka before finding an unexpected home - and an extraordinary surprise - in Australia ... more



COMING SOON

Heist Afghanistan Ponting Mandarin Hidden Dragon Broken Monsters Giver Film Tie-in Deeper Water