Quantcast James Tate from HarperCollins Publishers Australia
Facebook Twitter Pinterest YouTube 

Photo by Stephen Long

James Tate

James Tate was born in Kansas City, Missouri, in 1943. He is the author of sixteen books of poetry, including The Ghost Soldiers; Return to the City of White Donkeys; Memoir of the Hawk; Shroud of the Gnome; Worshipful Company of Fletchers, which won the National Book Award in 1994; Selected Poems, which won the Pulitzer Prize and the William Carlos Williams Award in 1991; Distance from Loved Ones; Reckoner; Constant Defender; Riven Doggeries; Viper Jazz; Absences; Hints to Pilgrims; The Oblivion Ha-Ha; and The Lost Pilot, which was selected by Dudley Fitts for the Yale Series of Younger Poets. He teaches at the University of Massachusetts in...

Read the full biography of James Tate

Author Extras
The Ghost Soldiers The Ghost Soldiers
Pulitzer Prize-winning poet James Tate returns with his fifteenth book of...
The Eternal Ones of the Dream The Eternal Ones of the Dream
A breathtaking collection of work from 1990 to 2010 by Pulitzer Prize and...
Return to the City of White Donkeys Return to the City of White Donkeys
In his fourteenth collection of poetry, Pulitzer Prize and National Book...