4 Books We Can’t Stop Talking About

April 24, 2018 Recommendations 0 Comments

We read them, we loved them and now we can't stop talking about these phenomenal books! These are the novels that keep us up at night thinking about what happens next - they're multi-layered, complex and beautiful reads that will stay with you. If you're at a loss for what to read or want to find a great book for your book club, we've got you covered!  READ MORE

7 Buddy Reads About Friendship!

April 19, 2018 Recommendations 0 Comments

Here at HarperCollins, we've been celebrating a month of friendship in honour of one of our very favourite fictional characters, Eleanor Oliphant. We've assigned staff with 'buddies' to perform anonymous, random acts of kindness for each other - it could be taking care of a random work task for someone or buying a them a morning coffee - simple things that brighten up their day! READ MORE

The story behind ‘The Last of the Bonegilla Girls’

April 18, 2018 Guest Post 0 Comments

by Victoria Purman Bonegilla is the Bonegilla Migrant Reception Centre, a spawling ex-Army camp on the River Murray in north-eastern Victoria, near Albury-Wodonga. Between 1947 and 1971, more than 320,000 people passed through there after arriving in Australia, looking for new lives and better opportunities. The small community is called Bonegilla and pronounced Bone-Gilla. But the camp came to be know as Bon-neg-illa as that’s the way migrants began pronouncing it when they arrived there. And although it’s thought to have come from a local indigenous name meaning deep water hole or big cattle camp, it does sound Italian so I can see why its usage changed. READ MORE

Remembering Our Heroes

April 16, 2018 Recommendations 0 Comments

Cementing the sacrifice our ANZAC heroes made through literature is one of the many ways their stories continue on. The significance of teaching our next generation about the importance of these brave individuals is sustained over 100 years later. To keep passing down the stories, we put together a list of books that keep our heroes in mind. READ MORE

Kate Leaver: ‘What’s happened since I published a book about friendship?’

Since writing 83,339 words on the subject of friendship, people have started to approach me to talk about their own. I wrote The Friendship Cure - a manifesto on the importance of friendship - because I truly believe we do not value, nurture or talk about it enough. I was validated in that when I spoke to people for the book because so many of my case studies - people who spoke to me generously about their feelings of loneliness, their friendship break-ups and their best friends - had actually never spoken to anyone but me about what friendship meant to them and especially what it felt like when it crumbled or vanished from their lives.  READ MORE

Five Reasons to Keep Fresh Flowers in Your Home

April 12, 2018 Guest Post 0 Comments

by Vanessa Carnevale I’ve always loved flowers, but before I started writing The Memories That Make Us, I didn’t have much experience in growing them, and I only ever kept vases of them in the house when I received them for special occasions. Over the course of writing my novel, set on a fictional flower farm in Daylesford, Victoria, my love of all things botanical amplified, and a new world opened up to me—one that showed me just how beneficial having armloads of flowers in my garden and home on a regular basis could be. READ MORE

Read an extract: The Secrets We Keep by Shirley Patton

April 10, 2018 Sample 0 Comments

A mother's secret. A father's betrayal. A town on the edge.  For readers of Judy Nunn's Spirits of the Ghan… When a newcomer blows into the mining town of Kalgoorlie she unwittingly uncovers a web of lies and a heartbreaking tie with her tumultuous past in this compelling family saga. In stores from March 19th, 2018. Click here to find out more! READ MORE

1 2 3 37
X