Quantcast The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life by James Martin
Facebook Twitter Pinterest YouTube 
About The Book
Pinit    

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything

A Spirituality for Real Life


 On Sale: 19/06/2012
 Formats:     Trade paperback | Hardback | E-Book
Single-Click Shopping:
Select Booksellers


The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything by the Revered James Martin, SJ (My Life with the Saints) is a practical spiritual guidebook based on the life and teachings of St. Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Society of Jesus. Centered around the Ignatian goal of “finding God in all things,” The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything shows us how to manage relationships, money, work, prayer, and decision-making, all while keeping a sense of humor.  Filled with user-friendly examples, humorous stories, and anecdotes from the heroic and inspiring lives of Jesuit saints and average priests and brothers, The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything is sure to appeal to fans of Kathleen Norris, Richard Rohr, Anne Lamott, and other Christian Spiritual writers.

Book Description

St. Ignatius to the Rescue!

St. Ignatius Loyola, founder of the Jesuit Order, was known for his practical spirituality. Now, Father James Martin translates Ignatius's insights for a modern audience, revealing how we can find God in our everyday lives in often surprising ways.

Includes a new reading group guide and bonus material


Author Extras
Reading Guides:

Critical Praise for The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything

“[The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything] becomes like a read-along spiritual director, someone to prompt you with questions, redirect your gaze and help you, Martin says, to ‘discern where God might be speaking to you.’”
— USA Today

ISBN: 9780061432699; ISBN10: 0061432695; Imprint: HarperOne ; On Sale: 19/06/2012; Format: Trade paperback; Trimsize: 5 5/16 x 8; Pages: 448; $19.99; ; BISAC1:REL062000; BISAC2:REL012000; BISAC3:REL010000

Books by James Martin
Together on Retreat Together on Retreat
How can we find God? How can we pray? What can we learn about Jesus from the New Testament stories about his ministry around the Sea of Galilee? In this innovative e-book, Rev. James Martin, S.J. invites us on an actual retreat to answer those questions and to encounter God's presence in prayer...
Between Heaven and Mirth Between Heaven and Mirth
In Between Heaven and Mirth , James Martin, SJ, assures us that God wants us to experience joy, to cultivate a sense of holy humor, and to laugh at life’s absurdities—not to mention our own humanity. Father Martin invites believers to rediscover the importance of humor and laughter in...
The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything
St. Ignatius Loyola (1491-1556), the founder of the Society of Jesus (aka the Jesuits), was known for his practical spirituality. The "way of Ignatius" has helped millions of people—from the doubtful seeker to the devout believer—find freedom, make friends, live simply, work sensibly,...