Book #0 The History of Middle-earth

The Lays of Beleriand (The History of Middle-earth, Book 3)

by Christopher Tolkien

On Sale: 20/09/2019



About the Book

The third volume that contains the early myths and legends which led to the writing of Tolkien’s epic tale of war, The Silmarillion.

This, the third volume of The History of Middle-earth, gives us a priviledged insight into the creation of the mythology of Middle-earth, through the alliterative verse tales of two of the most crucial stories in Tolkien’s world – those of Turien and Luthien. The first of the poems is the unpublished Lay of The Children of Hurin, narrating on a grand scale the tragedy of Turin Turambar. The second is the moving Lay of Leithian, the chief source of the tale of Beren and Luthien in The Silmarillion, telling of the Quest of the Silmaril and the encounter with Morgoth in his subterranean fortress.

Accompanying the poems are commentaries on the evolution of the history of the Elder Days. Also included is the notable criticism of The Lay of The Leithian by CS Lewis, who read the poem in 1929.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780007348206
  • ISBN 10: 0007348207
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 20/09/2019
  • Pages: 400
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology


Christopher Tolkien, born on 21 November 1924, is the third son of J.R.R. Tolkien. During the Second World War he served in the Royal Air Force and the Fleet Air Arm as a pilot. At the end of the war he returned to Oxford University, and became a fellow of New College and tutor in English in 1964, lecturing in the University on early English and northern literature. Appointed by J.R.R. Tolkien to be his literary executor, he has devoted himself since his father's death in 1973 to the editing and publication of unpublished writings, notably The Silmarillion and the collections entitled Unfinished Tales and The History of Middle-earth. Since 1975 he has live in France with his wife Baillie.

More about the author

Other Works by Christopher Tolkien

Fall Of Gondolin [Deluxe Edition]

by Christopher Tolkien

Fall of Gondolin

by Christopher Tolkien

See all