Book #0 The Farseer Trilogy

Assassin’s Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 1)

by Robin Hobb

On Sale: 01/09/2011



About the Book

‘Fantasy as it ought to be written’ George R.R. Martin

The kingdom of the Six Duchies is on the brink of civil war when news breaks that the crown prince has fathered a bastard son and is shamed into abdication. The child’s name is Fitz, and he is despised.

Raised in the castle stables, only the company of the king’s fool, the ragged children of the lower city, and his unusual affinity with animals provide Fitz with any comfort.

To be useful to the crown, Fitz is trained as an assassin; and to use the traditional magic of the Farseer family. But his tutor, allied to another political faction, is determined to discredit, even kill him. Fitz must survive: for he may be destined to save the kingdom.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780007374038
  • ISBN 10: 0007374038
  • Imprint: HarperVoyager
  • On Sale: 01/09/2011
  • Pages: 400
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Fantasy / Epic


Robin Hobb is one of the world’s finest writers of epic fiction.She was born in California in 1952 but raised in Alaska, where she learned how to raise a wolf cub, to skin a moose and to survive in the wilderness. When she married a fisherman who fished herring and the Kodiak salmon-run for half the year, these skills would stand her in good stead. She raised her family, ran a smallholding, delivered post to her remote community, all at the same time as writing stories and novels. She succeeded on all fronts, raising four children and becoming an internationally best-selling writer. She lives in Tacoma, Washington State.

More about the author

Other Works by Robin Hobb

Forest Mage

by Robin Hobb

Shaman's Crossing

by Robin Hobb

Renegade's Magic

by Robin Hobb

See all