Book #0 The Daevabad Trilogy

The City of Brass (The Daevabad Trilogy, Book 1)

by S A Chakraborty

On Sale: 14/11/2017


About the Book

Discover this spellbinding debut from S.A. Chakraborty.

‘An extravagant feast of a book – spicy and bloody, dizzyingly magical, and still, somehow, utterly believable’ Laini Taylor, Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author

Among the bustling markets of eighteenth century Cairo, the city’s outcasts eke out a living swindling rich Ottoman nobles and foreign invaders alike.

But alongside this new world the old stories linger. Tales of djinn and spirits. Of cities hidden among the swirling sands of the desert, full of enchantment, desire and riches. Where magic pours down every street, hanging in the air like dust.

Many wish their lives could be filled with such wonder, but not Nahri. She knows the trades she uses to get by are just tricks and sleights of hand: there’s nothing magical about them. She only wishes to one day leave Cairo, but as the saying goes…

Be careful what you wish for.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008239411
  • ISBN 10: 000823941X
  • Imprint: HarperVoyager
  • On Sale: 14/11/2017
  • Pages: 576
  • BISAC1: Fiction & related items / Fantasy


S. A. Chakraborty is a speculative fiction writer from Queens whose work has appeared in Crossed Genres, Expanded Horizons, The Future Fire, Fey Visions of the Mediterranean, and Kaleidocast. An organizer with the Brooklyn Speculative Fiction Writers' group, she can be found on Twitter at @SChakrabs. The City of Brass is her first novel.

More about the author

Other Works by S A Chakraborty

The Empire Of Gold

by S A Chakraborty

The Empire Of Gold

by S A Chakraborty

Kingdom Of Copper

by S A Chakraborty

See all