Detective Porter, Book #2

The Fifth To Die

by J.D. Barker

On Sale: 23/07/2018

Format:

About the Book

‘J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that's a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don't miss anything J.D. writes.' James Patterson

Murder. It's a family affair.

In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake.

She's been missing for three weeks… the lake froze over three months ago.

Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate but it's not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer, Anson Bishop, has struck again but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different, there's a new killer on the loose.

Porter however is distracted. He's still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: ‘Help me find my mother. I think it's time she and I talked.'

As more girls go missing and Porter's team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop's mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came.

Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he's been trained from birth?

What readers are saying about J.D. Barker:

'This author is indeed devious for he has literally captured his audience , what a cliffhanger!'

'another dark , gritty story that's impossible to put down!'

'Genuinely shocking. Need more NOW…Did not expect THAT.'

'This is such an amazing series, you're missing out if you've not sprung on the wagon!'

'This was a crazily addictive read to me and J.D. Barker has so earned his stripes for me as a horror/thriller writer.'

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008250393
  • ISBN 10: 0008250391
  • Imprint: HQ Fiction - GB
  • On Sale: 23/07/2018
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price: 29.99 AUD
  • BISAC1: Fiction & related items / Crime & mystery

Biography

J. D. BARKER is the international bestselling author of Forsaken, a finalist for the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Debut Novel. In addition, he has been asked to coauthor a prequel to Dracula by the Stoker family. Barker splits his time between Englewood, Florida, and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


More about the author



Other Works by J.D. Barker

The Fifth To Die

by J.D. Barker

The Fourth Monkey

by J.D. Barker

See all
X