Escaping Exodus

by Nicky Drayden

On Sale: 21/10/2019

Format:

About the Book

Harper Voyager Trade Paperback Original
The Compton Crook award–winning author of The Prey of Gods and Temper returns with a dazzling stand-alone novel, set in deep space, in which the fate of humanity rests on the slender shoulders of an idealistic and untested young woman-a blend of science fiction, dark humor, and magical realism that will appeal to fans of Charlie Jane Anders, Jeff VanderMeer, and Nnedi Okorafor.

Earth is a distant memory. Habitable extrasolar planets are still out of reach. For generations, humanity has been clinging to survival by establishing colonies within enormous vacuum-breathing space beasts and mining their resources to the point of depletion.

Rash, dreamy, and unconventional, Seske Kaleigh should be preparing for her future role as clan leader, but her people have just culled their latest beast, and she's eager to find the cause of the violent tremors plaguing their new home. Defying social barriers, Seske teams up with her best friend, a beast worker, and ventures into restricted areas for answers to end the mounting fear and rumors. Instead, they discover grim truths about the price of life in the void.

Then, Seske is unexpectedly thrust into the role of clan matriarch, responsible for thousands of lives in a harsh universe where a single mistake can be fatal. Her claim to the throne is challenged by a rival determined to overthrow her and take control-her intelligent, cunning, and confident sister.

Seske may not be a born leader like her sister, yet her unorthodox outlook and incorruptible idealism may be what the clan needs to save themselves and their world.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062867735
  • ISBN 10: 0062867733
  • Imprint: HarperCollins - US
  • On Sale: 21/10/2019
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 29.99 AUD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Science Fiction / Space Opera

Biography

Nicky Drayden is the award-winning author of the The Prey of Gods and Temper. A Systems Analyst who dabbles in prose when she's not buried in code, she resides in Austin, Texas where being weird is highly encouraged, if not required.


More about the author



Other Works by Nicky Drayden

Temper

by Nicky Drayden

The Prey Of Gods

by Nicky Drayden

See all
X