About the Book

A sweeping family saga of long lost love, for readers of Fiona McIntosh and Mary-Anne O'Connor.

From Pearl Harbor to the shores of Sydney, a secret that spans generations could unite a family – or destroy it.

Honolulu, Hawaii 1941

On the evening of her sixteenth birthday party, Catherine McGarrie wants nothing more than for the night to be over, even though the opulence of the ballroom befits the daughter of a US Navy Rear Admiral. Then she meets Charlie, a navy officer from the other side of the tracks, a man her parents would never approve of.

As rumours of war threaten their tropical paradise, Catherine and Charlie fall in love. But the bombing of Pearl Harbor on 7th December 1941 changes their lives forever.

Seventy–five years later, addled by age and painkillers, Catherine tells her granddaughter Kit her story and reveals the tale of a long–lost treasure. Can Kit uncover the secret and reunite her family? Or will the truth tear them apart?

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781489251343
  • ISBN 10: 1489251340
  • Imprint: Mira - AU
  • On Sale: 20/08/2018
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price: 29.99 AUD
  • BISAC1: Undefined Category

Biography

Emily Madden covets books like some women covet shoes and handbags (although she has a decent collection of each of those too!). While she reads anything and everything, stories that touch the heart and uplift the soul are what she loves the most. Emily lives in Sydney with her two girls and husband. She's a coffee lover and can often be found writing at her local haunts.You can email her at [email protected], or connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. Photo credit: JQ Photography


More about the author



Other Works by Emily Madden

Heart Of The Cross

by Emily Madden

The Lost Pearl

by Emily Madden

SUMMERS WITH JULIETTE

by Emily Madden

See all
X