Home to Australian Stories for 130 Years

This year we proudly celebrate 130 years of Australian publishing. Following on from our worldwide 200th anniversary last year, it is a timely reminder that our global strength is built on the local experience of each of our businesses. We are delighted to remember the contribution of so many great authors in our celebration of this milestone anniversary.

Through the Angus & Robertson imprint, we can trace our roots back to 1888 and the company’s first Australian publication, A Crown of Wattle by H Peden Steele. Angus & Robertson was inspired to move into publishing by the realisation that Australian readers needed Australian stories that reflected their experiences, culture, nature and society and to which they could relate. Over the 130 years since then, Angus & Robertson has published some of the great names of Australian literature, from the original voices of Banjo Paterson, Henry Lawson, May Gibbs, CJ Dennis, Louise Mack and Norman Lindsay to the standout literary successes of Xavier Herbert, Judith Wright and Mary Gilmore, and the wildly popular commercial bestsellers of EV Timms, Ion Idriess and Colleen McCullough. Angus & Robertson also made important contributions to the history and culture of Australia by publishing landmark reference works such as the first Australian Encyclopedia, Charles Bean’s Official History of Australia in the War of 1914–1918, The Commonsense Cookery Book and Neville Cayley’s What Bird is That?

To commemorate this occasion HarperCollins Australia commissioned Australian typographer Jess Cruickshank to brilliantly rework our iconic ‘fire and water’ logo with these names that have defined our past. The result feels handmade, tactile and full of personality…a successful combination of both antique and contemporary, yet unmistakably ‘HarperCollins’. More than anything it is a celebration of achievement, diversity and, above all, storytelling – we are truly a home to Australian authors and their stories. 

We are immensely proud to be Australia’s oldest publisher, and we hold dear our commitment to continue to discover and publish important new voices that contribute to our understanding of the world and the place we hold in it. We believe 2018 will be an outstanding year for relevant, exciting, surprising and delightful new stories and we look forward to placing them in the hands of readers everywhere. Beyond our anniversary year, we look forward to upholding the values of our past history in all our future publishing endeavours.

Illustrations Copyright © Jessica Cruickshank 2018


Do you recognise any of these names from Australian publishing history? Let us know what you think of the logo in the comments below.

Posted on March 27, 2018 by

This entry was posted in Announcements, History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

"Home to Australian Stories for 130 Years"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *