Introducing the winner of the 2019 Banjo Prize

The Banjo Prize 2019

HarperCollins Publishers Australia is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2019 Banjo Prize is Elizabeth Flann for her unpublished manuscript Beware of Dogs.

Beware of Dogs is an almost unbearably tense Australian thriller that keeps the reader in suspense from page one.

Alix Verhoeven is hiding in a tiny cave on a remote Australian island. Written as a field diary documenting her isolation and her battle for survival against the men who are after her, this is a compelling and utterly gripping tale for fans of Harlan Coben, Karin Slaughter and the Australian classic Wake in Fright.

Anna Valdinger, Fiction Publisher at HarperCollins, says: ‘Beware of Dogs is exactly the sort of page-turning novel we were looking for, and it was a big favourite among the HarperCollins reading team. In one sense, the survival story is reminiscent of Cast Away or The Martian, as Alix has to rely solely on her wits and bushcraft skills in a hostile environment, but through it all looms the terrifying sense of her being hunted. It’s a truly unputdownable thriller and we are so excited to publish it.’

Elizabeth Flann says: ‘This story began as a dream about a person caught in a dire circumstance. The dreams continued and gradually Alix formed in my consciousness and her story developed from there. I have become very close to her in the writing, so I’m thrilled and delighted that her story can now go out and be shared by others. Thank you so much to HarperCollins for this wonderful opportunity.’

In partnership with News Regional Media, HarperCollins has also announced two runners-up who will each receive a written assessment of their manuscript from HarperCollins. The runners-up are Nina and Pearl by Fleur Glenn and The True Love Story of David Collins and Terra Nullius by Terry Whitebeach.

HarperCollins Publishers Australia launched The Banjo Prize for Australian fiction writers in 2018 in a quest to find Australia’s next great storyteller. In 2019, The Banjo Prize received over 250 submissions. Applicants were required to submit a full manuscript of adult commercial fiction, a 500-word synopsis and a 200-word biographical statement.


For more information please visit the competition page or contact Kimberley Allsopp at HarperCollins ([email protected])

The Banjo Prize will be accepting entries in 2020. For more information, please visit the competition page.


Posted on September 17, 2019 by

This entry was posted in Announcements, Awards, Publishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

"Introducing the winner of the 2019 Banjo Prize"1 thought on
  • judy Parkinson says:

    Congratulations Elizabeth. I was an entrant but alas did not get a mention. I hope you have a wonderful future as an Australian writer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *