Categories for Sample

Time to relax: A selection of long weekend reads

Girl reading a book in bed

The October long weekend is right around the corner and we can't wait to get stuck into some great books! Because we adore books as much as you do, we've put together a selection of superb samplers. A psychological thriller; the guide to life from Instagram star Celeste Barber; a page-turner for literary buffs; uplit for Rachael Johns fans; and the story of a little black cat who changed one woman's life. There really is something for everyone! READ MORE

Read an extract: The Shanghai Wife by Emma Harcourt

May 24, 2018 Sample 0 Comments

  Forbidden friendship, political conspiracy and incendiary passion draw Australian woman Annie Brand deep into the glamour and turmoil of 1920s Shanghai. Leaving behind the loneliness and trauma of her past in country Australia, Annie Brand arrives to the political upheaval and glittering international society of Shanghai in the 1920s. Journeying up the Yangtze with her new husband, the ship's captain, Annie revels in the sense of adventure but when her husband sends her back to Shanghai, her freedom is quickly curtailed. Against her will, Annie finds herself living alone in the International Settlement, increasingly suffocated by the judgemental Club ladies and their exclusive social scene: one even more restrictive than that she came from. Sick of salacious gossip and foreign condescension, and desperate to shake off the restrictions of her position in the world, Annie is slowly drawn into the bustling life and otherness of the real Shanghai, and begins to see the world from the perspective of the local people, including the servants who work at her husband's Club. But this world is far more complex and dangerous than the curious Annie understands and, unknowingly, she becomes caught in a web of intrigue and conspiracy as well as a passionate forbidden love affair she could not have predicted: one with far–reaching consequences... ‘Emma's book is lyrical and beautiful...she has written a love story as dangerous and exotic as the worlds she describes.' Caroline Overington, author of The Lucky One and The One That Got Away In stores from June 18th, 2018. Click here to find out more! READ MORE

Read an extract: The Secrets We Keep by Shirley Patton

April 10, 2018 Sample 0 Comments

A mother's secret. A father's betrayal. A town on the edge.  For readers of Judy Nunn's Spirits of the Ghan… When a newcomer blows into the mining town of Kalgoorlie she unwittingly uncovers a web of lies and a heartbreaking tie with her tumultuous past in this compelling family saga. In stores from March 19th, 2018. Click here to find out more! READ MORE

Read an extract: The Implausible Story of Olive Far Far Away by Tonya Alexandra

March 19, 2018 Sample 1 Comment

‘Forget gypsy curses and invisibility. Forget stupid boys who are supposed to be my true love and then dump me. I've got one mission now – fun.' In the witty conclusion to The Impossible Story of Olive in Love, irrepressible Olive Banks takes on the curse that makes her invisible, in a roller coaster ride of love and laughs. In stores from March 19th, 2018! Click here to find out more. #loveozya READ MORE

Read an extract: Making Peace by Fiona McCallum

March 8, 2018 Sample 0 Comments

Does one simple act of kindness have the power to completely turn a life around? From Australia’s master storyteller comes an uplifting story of new and old friendships, letting go of the past and looking to the future…   Look for Making Peace in stores from March 19th, 2018. Click here to find out more! READ MORE

Satya Nadella Imagines A Better Future For Everyone

October 27, 2017 Sample 0 Comments

Microsoft's CEO, Satya Nadella tells the inside story of the company's continuing transformation, while tracing his own journey from a childhood in India to leading some of the most significant changes of the digital era and offering his vision for the coming wave of intelligent technologies. READ MORE

1 2 3