Australian Author

How well do you know Australia’s most iconic author, leading feminist and humanitarian?

Miles Franklin

Author, union organiser, WWI volunteer, women's rights agitator, nationalist, Miles Franklin worked, wrote and talked for many causes, none more passionately than Australian literature. Propelled to fame aged only twenty-one in the wake of her bestselling novel My Brilliant Career, she never again achieved the same literary success, but her life was rich and productive. She published sixteen novels, numerous non-fiction books and articles, and maintained a prolific and entertaining correspondence with friends and acquaintances. READ MORE

Read an extract: The Shanghai Wife by Emma Harcourt

May 24, 2018 Sample 0 Comments

  Forbidden friendship, political conspiracy and incendiary passion draw Australian woman Annie Brand deep into the glamour and turmoil of 1920s Shanghai. Leaving behind the loneliness and trauma of her past in country Australia, Annie Brand arrives to the political upheaval and glittering international society of Shanghai in the 1920s. Journeying up the Yangtze with her new husband, the ship's captain, Annie revels in the sense of adventure but when her husband sends her back to Shanghai, her freedom is quickly curtailed. Against her will, Annie finds herself living alone in the International Settlement, increasingly suffocated by the judgemental Club ladies and their exclusive social scene: one even more restrictive than that she came from. Sick of salacious gossip and foreign condescension, and desperate to shake off the restrictions of her position in the world, Annie is slowly drawn into the bustling life and otherness of the real Shanghai, and begins to see the world from the perspective of the local people, including the servants who work at her husband's Club. But this world is far more complex and dangerous than the curious Annie understands and, unknowingly, she becomes caught in a web of intrigue and conspiracy as well as a passionate forbidden love affair she could not have predicted: one with far–reaching consequences... ‘Emma's book is lyrical and beautiful...she has written a love story as dangerous and exotic as the worlds she describes.' Caroline Overington, author of The Lucky One and The One That Got Away In stores from June 18th, 2018. Click here to find out more! READ MORE

The story behind ‘The Last of the Bonegilla Girls’

April 18, 2018 Guest Post 0 Comments

by Victoria Purman Bonegilla is the Bonegilla Migrant Reception Centre, a spawling ex-Army camp on the River Murray in north-eastern Victoria, near Albury-Wodonga. Between 1947 and 1971, more than 320,000 people passed through there after arriving in Australia, looking for new lives and better opportunities. The small community is called Bonegilla and pronounced Bone-Gilla. But the camp came to be know as Bon-neg-illa as that’s the way migrants began pronouncing it when they arrived there. And although it’s thought to have come from a local indigenous name meaning deep water hole or big cattle camp, it does sound Italian so I can see why its usage changed. READ MORE

Five Reasons to Keep Fresh Flowers in Your Home

April 12, 2018 Guest Post 0 Comments

by Vanessa Carnevale I’ve always loved flowers, but before I started writing The Memories That Make Us, I didn’t have much experience in growing them, and I only ever kept vases of them in the house when I received them for special occasions. Over the course of writing my novel, set on a fictional flower farm in Daylesford, Victoria, my love of all things botanical amplified, and a new world opened up to me—one that showed me just how beneficial having armloads of flowers in my garden and home on a regular basis could be. READ MORE

Read an extract: The Secrets We Keep by Shirley Patton

April 10, 2018 Sample 0 Comments

A mother's secret. A father's betrayal. A town on the edge.  For readers of Judy Nunn's Spirits of the Ghan… When a newcomer blows into the mining town of Kalgoorlie she unwittingly uncovers a web of lies and a heartbreaking tie with her tumultuous past in this compelling family saga. In stores from March 19th, 2018. Click here to find out more! READ MORE

Guest Post: Tess Evans on the Power of Community Activism

In her new novel, The Ballad of Banjo Crossing, Tess Evans deals with what happens when a small town community is fractured by big business - when armchair critics become activists. Once a proud farming community, Banjo Crossing could become a mining town, their sweet water compromised, their fertile soil degraded, the food they produce, suspect. What are the ramifications when an issue like this has the power to divide even the most closely knit community? READ MORE

1 2
X