Press Room

For fans of Devil Wears Prada: Channel Ten’s Jennifer Hansen’s debut novel

For fans of The Devil Wears Prada and Bridget Jones’s Diary, from one of Melbourne’s favourite news women.

Making Headlines

Jennifer Hansen

 

For more than years 10 years Jennifer Hansen was a familiar face in Melbourne homes as co-host of Network Ten’s 5pm News. There she learnt a thing or two about the challenges and buzz of the TV news industry, as well as its colourful characters. Those years at the front line of TV reporting has flourished into this story of passion, adrenaline and excess — Making Headlines gives readers an insight into what really goes on in the newsroom before the cameras go live.

 

 

Be careful what you wish for your dream job could become your biggest nightmare.

TV reporter Rachel Bentley is used to the industry’s challenges, but when she decides to aim high and become a newsreader, she faces a whole new minefield of explosive scenarios.

Rachel’s path sees her pitched against egos in the newsroom, office politics and corrupt politicians, not to mention rampant sexism and a mystery stalker. Juggling a messy personal life doesn’t help, nor does the emotional impact of reporting on life’s tragedies. When it all takes a toll and Rachel starts partying too hard, she finds herself making the headlines instead of reading them. Will she survive a world where dreams are shattered daily and will she find the man who can help her keep her soul?

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

Jennifer Hansen is best known to TV audiences as the former co-host of Channel Ten’s 5pm news, but also writes from her experience as a columnist on modern women’s issues, an actress of cameo and lead roles and as a woman who has deftly climbed the career ladder of Australia’s media industry.

 

These days Jennifer works in radio as part of smoothfm 91.5’s breakfast show where she reads the news and chats with Mike Perso about all things Melbourne. In between media gigs, Jennifer went back to ‘school’ – taking up the Professional Writing and Editing course at RMIT. That has helped her complete her first novel and two screenplays. Occasionally she remembers to look after her family – including husbandNeighbours actor Alan Fletcher (aka Dr Karl Kennedy) and their two children, Veronica and Tom.

 

For further information please contact:    

                                                          

Making Headlines by Jennifer Hansen      

Alberta McKenzie                                                                                                      

Published: 1 January 2016

Imprint: HarperImpulse

E: [email protected]

T: (02) 9952 5379                                                                                                     

Format: eBook;

RRP: $2.99;

ISBN: 9781460706473

DATE POSTED

February 2, 2016

SUBJECT

For fans of Devil Wears Prada: Channel Ten’s Jennifer Hansen’s debut novel

X