The Girl Who Brought Mischief

by Katrina Nannestad

On Sale: 01/06/2013

Format:

About the Book

In the tradition of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and HEIDI comes a heart-warming novel set in Denmark in 1911 about love, family, grief and joy.

The award-winning novel from the author of OLIVE OF GROVES

When Inge Maria arrives on the tiny island of Bornholm in Denmark to live with her grandmother, she's not sure what to expect.

Her grandmother is stern, the people on the island are strange, and children are not allowed to run wild or express themselves the way they did back in Copenhagen - especially if you are a girl.

Inge Maria tries not to feel sorry for herself, but she misses her mama. And on top of everything else, mischief seems to have a way of finding her no matter how hard she tries to be good ... But could it be that a bit of mischief is exactly what Grandmother and the people of Bornholm need?

Ages 8-12

PRAISE and AWARDS

'Readers can only hope for more of [Inge Maria Jensen's] happy mischief and genuine heart.' - Publishers Weekly STARRED review

'This heartwarming and richly engaging tale explores grief and the sustaining support of humor with an abundance of love.' - Kirkus STARRED review

'A truly touching story.' - School Library Journal

Winner of the 2014 NSW Premier's Literary Award for Children's Literature

A Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Notable Book

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780733332005
  • ISBN 10: 0733332005
  • Imprint: ABC Books - AU
  • On Sale: 01/06/2013
  • Pages: 224
  • List Price: 14.99 AUD
  • Age: From 8 years
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE FICTION / General

Biography

Katrina Nannestad is an award-winning Australian author. Her books include The Girl Who Brought Mischief, the Girl, the Dog and the Writer series, the Olive of Groves series, the Red Dirt Diaries series, the Lottie Perkins series and Bungaloo Creek. Katrina grew up in country New South Wales in a neighbourhood stuffed full of happy children. Her adult years have been spent teaching, raising boys, perfecting her recipe for chocolate-chip bickies and pursuing her love of stories. She now lives near Bendigo with her family and an exuberant black whippet called Olive. Learn more at www.katrinanannestad.com


More about the author



X