Kiki Button, Book #1

April In Paris, 1921

by Tessa Lunney

On Sale: 21/05/2018

Format:

About the Book

Meet the glamorous, witty and charming Kiki Button: socialite, private detective and spy. We all have secrets - it's just that Kiki has more than most ... For fans of Phryne Fisher and Julian Fellowes

It's 1921, and after two years at home in Australia, Katherine King Button has had enough. Her rich parents have ordered her to get married, but after serving as a nurse during the horrors of the Great War, she has vowed never to take orders again. She flees her parents and the prison of their expectations for the place of friendship and freedom: Paris.

Paris in 1921 is the city of freedom, the place where she can remake herself as Kiki Button, gossip columnist extraordinaire, partying with the rich and famous, the bohemian and bold, the suspicious and strange.

But on the modelling dais, Picasso gives her a job: to find his wife's portrait, which has gone mysteriously missing. That same night, her old spymaster from the war contacts her - she has to find a double agent or face jail. Through parties, whisky and informants, Kiki has to use every ounce of her determination, her wit and her wiles to save herself, the man she adores, and the life she has come to love - in just one week.

Playful, charming, witty and very, very entertaining, Kiki Button - the fearless, beautiful and blonde-bobbed Australienne - is a heroine to win hearts.

'Kikki Button lives by her wits, her style and an irrepressible joie de vivre' Sulari Gentill, author, A Few Right Thinking Men

'Fascinating characters, beautifully written.' Kate Williams, New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Queen Victoria

'Tessa Lunney brilliantly evokes the Annees folles of the Roaring Twenties as her heroine?an Australian debutante-turned-nurse-turned-spy?Kiki Button traipses through Paris's sensual bohemian culture hunting for a World War I mole and stolen Pablo Picasso painting.' Julie McElwain, author of A Murder in Time

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781460755778
  • ISBN 10: 1460755774
  • Imprint: HarperCollins - AU
  • On Sale: 21/05/2018
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price: 29.99 AUD
  • BISAC1: Fiction & related items / Crime & mystery

Biography

Tessa Lunney is a novelist, poet, and occasional academic. In 2016 she won the prestigious Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature for 'Chess and Dragonflies' and the A Room Of Her Own Foundation Orlando Prize for Fiction for her story 'Those Ebola Burners Them'. She was also the recipient of a Varuna Fellowship. In 2013, she graduated from Western Sydney University with a Doctorate of Creative Arts that explored silence in Australian war fiction. In 2014 she was awarded an Australia Council ArtStart grant for literature. Her poetry, short fiction, and reviews have been published in Best Australian Poems 2014, Southerly, Cordite,Griffith Review, and the Australian Book Review, among others.https://tessalunney.com/


More about the author



Author Events

Thursday, May 31

Tessa Lunney @ Kinokuniya 9781460755778 by Tessa Lunney will be featured on/at:

Books Kinokuniya


Tuesday, June 26

Tessa Lunney @ Brays Books 9781460755778 by Tessa Lunney will be featured on/at:


X